Chicapod

not just another weblog

Batik Painting June 29, 2010

Filed under: Artworks — chicapod @ 10:39 pm

Floratik

Cloth

50cm x 70cm

2009

This is my first try at batik painting.

Took a long, long time to do it, since it needs a lot of layers and fabric colouring.

Well, looking at this, I feel kind of proud!

Maybe it’s also partly because this was my first time using fabric as a medium, and completing it was a feat to me.

I like to use a lot of colours in my art, just like in this piece.

Many colours make me feel happy, so I felt really satisfied after completing this.

After trying my hand at batik painting, I realise I like it alot, since it’s a mixture of hands-on activities (mixing the wax, using the janting to seal the cloth) and conventional painting.

Before I attempted batik painting, I did not appreciate South Asian art, since I was more exposed to the Western art.

However, after completing this piece, I am able to appreciate South Asian art, and find myself marveling at the wonderful creations of batik painting.

Batik painting can be done on any piece of cloth, as long as one has the necessary materials.

You can even paint beautiful pictures on your normal clothes!

By merely using molten wax and fabric colouring, such fantastic images can be painted on fabric.

I hope to attempt batik painting again in the near future!

 

Leave a Reply

