Chicapod

not just another weblog

Eternity: an Illustration September 24, 2010

Filed under: Artworks — chicapod @ 11:41 pm

Title: Eternity

Medium: Colour Pencil, Watercolour and Ink on Paper

Size: A4

Date: 2008

I drew this when I got inspired after watching Memoirs of a Geisha, so I gave the girl very red lips, fair skin and huge brown eyes, like the geisha.

The part where I spent the most effort in was the hair. I took a whole 3 hours just to outline and draw the hair. In the end, my black pen ran out of ink. Each strand of hair had to be drawn, since hair is really fine and the pen lines were really fine so I needed to be ultra meticulous to fill up the whole space of the hair.

This is the first illustration I did in colour, since I only did sketches before that. I am contented with this drawing because it brought me on a journey of illustration after I did this. I am most proud of the long, thick and flowy hair, thanks to the hours spent on it.

The things I could improve on was the composition of the girl’s features. I think I did okay for the eyes, but then the nose could be more defined and shorter, because it looks so elongated in this illustration. And the mouth could be placed higher up, nearer to the tip of the nose, giving the features a more harmonized look.

 

Leave a Reply

